NPR’s Place and Memory Project

Almost anyone who knows me in real life knows that I’m an NPR junkie.  I listen to it constantly – in the car, in the kitchen, when I’m cleaning, when I’m getting ready every morning.  My radio is rarely dialed to anything else. I can hardly have a conversation without mentioning something I heard on Morning Addition or All Things Considered.  So you can imagine my excitement when I discovered NPR’s Place and Memory Project.

The Place and Memory Project began in 2009 as a Weekend Edition Summer Series.  The project features several radio stories that aired on Weekend Edition during the spring and summer of 2009, a blog, and a wiki page.   The project chronicles “stories of those places, long gone, that have left their mark on us so clearly—just their mention brings them instantly back to life” and invites the public to contribute.  What a great idea!  Contribute your own place and memory to the over 400 already collected here.

Image via NPR

Leave a Reply

