Did You Know?

Buffalo Trace Distillery in Frankfort, Kentucky is the oldest continually operating distillery in the US?* Its 130-acre facility includes 4 centuries of architecture that is well-maintained and fully operational!**

BT_Steam

Buffalo Trace Distillery sits on the Kentucky River in Frankfort, KY. Image via geocommons

*During Prohibition, Buffalo Trace was granted permission to produce whiskey for “medicinal” purposes.

**You can take a virtual tour of the distillery to see more if its historic architecture here! Or you can peruse a timeline of the distillery’s 200+ year history here.

3 comments

  1. leavingcelestia

    Although a bottle of Buffalo Trace happens to be the only bourbon in my cabinet right now, I’ve never gotten to visit. I did go on a fun Bourbon Trail roadtrip one time, though, and toured Wild Turkey, Maker’s Mark, and Woodford Reserve… that was a lot of fun! I checked out the link to the site and discovered all kinds of interesting tidbits. I had no idea the Buffalo Trace name has only been around for 14 years. I mean, I couldn’t legally drink back then, anyhow, so it makes sense. :) Also, fascinating that they were still allowed to produce whiskey during prohibition. I toured Beringer Brothers here in California a couple weeks ago and was intrigued to learn that they were still “producing” during prohibition… but, come to find out, what they were producing was dried fruit!

    • bricksandmortarpreservation

      Buffalo Trace is what I have at home too! Only it’s their new bourbon cream liqueur. (If you haven’t tried it, you should. It is SO good!) I’m ashamed to say that even though I live less than an hour from Buffalo Trace, I’ve only been into the ca 1934 house that serves as office space for the staff. Hopefully that will change soon — I might be working with them on a project in the near future! I was surprised by many of the same things you were when I was preparing for my meeting. I knew the name “Buffalo Trace” hadn’t been around for very long, but I had no idea that the actual facility was so old or that it had continuously been producing. I would be interested to find out how exactly they got permission for “medicinal” whiskey during Prohibition! I love that Beringer Brothers was actually producing dried fruit – that cracks me up. But I guess you gotta do what you gotta do! If you are ever in Kentucky again, you should definitely check out BT. Though I’ve never been on the tour, I hear it’s great and I can personally attest to how pretty the campus is and how friendly the staff is!

  2. Pingback: Preservation Round-Up: The Oldest Distillery in the U.S. Edition - PreservationNation

Leave a Reply

